Define the pathname of the target directory the files should be backed up to. Define a name snippet which will be complemented by the date and time if you enable the two options to identify the backup file on the target directory.
As the default backup directory lies within the Cryptshare installation directory, it can be useful to change it to another location as backups can grow very large, especially if transfer backup is enabled.
The backup task is performing backups of the system on a daily basis. It will use the settings that have been made in this section.
If you want to change the execution time of the backup task, please refer to Scheduled Tasks.
You can instantly trigger a backup without permanently changing the settings for the backup task. Simply choose the settings you prefer and click the button 'Perform backup now' without clicking on 'Save changes'. The changes you have made will only apply to the backup triggered manually.
The restore section lists all backups made since the server was updated to v22.214.171.124 or higher. Select the backup you want to restore in order to see the backup contents. If a content cannot be selected, it is not included in this backup.
Backups prior to v126.96.36.199 are incompatible
Please note that backups made with previous Cryptshare versions will neither be listed here nor are they compatible with the new restore-system.
Possible conflicts for certain backups
In certain situations backup contents may not be compatible with the system or vice versa. This means that in some situations a backup cannot be restored anymore or can only be restored if specific contents are restored with it.
Automated Backup Cleanup
With v3.12 of the Cryptshare Server a cleanup mechanism for old backups has been introduced. It allows two methods on how the files for the deletion are taken into consideration:
- Deletion by amount: The last x backup files will be left on the system. All other files will be removed
- Deletion by age: Files older than x days will be deleted. All other files will be kept.
By default the automated cleanup service is active. Disable the respective checkbox in order to disable auto-cleanup.